Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 4th, 2008

Yellow Flowers (c) Lynda BernhardtToday, I, along with seven other talented bloggers, launched our own adoption website. The primary reason I wanted “in” on this site is because I have the freedom there to post about the aftereffects of abuse in children who have lived in abusive households.

Many adoptive parents adopt their children out of foster care. Many children in the foster care system have suffered from abuse, neglect, or other forms of trauma. In my former job of blogging about adoption at another site, I would sometimes weave in some advice for adoptive parents who are raising children who have been abused. Adoptive parents of abused children would eagerly read over those posts and ask for more.

What was so surprising to me was how the things I shared about the mind of the abused child were news to those adoptive parents. (The exception was adoptive parents who themselves suffered abuse.) The adoptive parents were painfully aware of difficult behaviors to parent, but much of the advice and insight I passed along was news to them. That floored me because it all seems so obvious to me, but it is only “obvious” because I think like an abuse survivor.

So, I am very excited to be working on this new website. We are looking for ways to make it profitable, which would definitely be nice, but I am not in it for that reason. I am excited about having an opportunity to speak out on behalf of abused children and to share insights that the children are not yet in the position to share for themselves.

Life threw me some big lemons in my childhood, and I am so happy to be able to make so much lemonade with them. Each abused child that I help brings value out of what was otherwise a senseless and meaningless experience.

Photo credit: Lynda Bernhardt

Read Full Post »