Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 21st, 2011

I am reading the book The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson for my Book Club. I had no idea that sexual assaults would be part of the book, much less such a graphic sexual assault. If you are in a bad place, do not read this book. However, if you are in a good place, you might find the book to be quite empowering. (Keep in mind that I have not yet finished the book.)

There is more than one rape scene, but the one that takes place in Chapter 13 is especially disturbing, particularly if you endured similar abuses. (This is a rape of a woman in her twenties who is a “ward” being attacked by her guardian.) The reason I am writing about it is because I felt so empowered about how she fought back in the next chapter.

*** spoiler alert ***

She was, of course, surprised by the first rape. The second time, she came prepared with a hidden camera, not knowing that the second rape would be much more brutal and sadistic. On her third visit, she uses a taser on the her abuser, handcuffs him to the bed, does a few other things to him, and then tattoos the following onto his chest in large letters: I AM A SADISTIC PIG, A PERVERT, AND A RAPIST.

*** end spoilers ***

Can you imagining having the opportunity to do that to your abusers? Oh my gosh – the empowerment of vicariously living through this character as she does to her abuser as I would love to do to my own, although I never would have thought of that particular strategy. There’s more that she does to ensure that he never rapes anyone else again, but you’ll have to read the book to learn about that.

It was empowering to see this sadistic abuser having to be put in his victim’s shoes, although it is not the same because she is fighting back, not seeking to victimize anyone. It is also empowering to see a victim take her power back from her abuser.

I know this is just a work of fiction, but I really enjoyed the way she fought back and wanted to share it with all of you. I might have to add some of her tactics to my visualizations the next time I am working through another round of anger toward my abusers.

Photo credit: Amazon.com

Read Full Post »