Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 2nd, 2008

Dog dressed as pirateLast week, a friend gave me a wonderful compliment. She said that she loved my sense of humor. She said that many people who have suffered just become bitter, so it is refreshing to talk with someone who has a sense of humor about life even after suffering.

Yes, I definitely have a sense of humor, albeit a warped one. My favorite joke is this one:

Why did the monkey fall out of the tree?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
He died.

Is that not the funniest thing you have ever heard? If your answer is no, then you do not have the warped sense of humor that I do.

For better or for worse, my son has inherited my warped sense of humor. I find humor in random, out of left-field humor, which is probably why I like that joke so much. My son is great with the out of left-field humor. That kid keeps me in stitches. My husband thinks we are both nuts. He is probably right to a certain degree.

If you have the same warped sense of humor that I do, check out the Gilmore Girls DVDs. I love that show, and I am still in mourning that the series is over. Where else can I see a show where a character cannot take her book bag to class because her roommate put an old-fashioned printing press on top of it in their dorm room?

I miss Chandler on Friends as well for the same reason. I miss his out of left field one-liners.

What does this have to do with healing from abuse? Finding a way to laugh is incredibly healing. I cried enough in childhood. I want my adulthood filled with laughter.

Photo credit: Faith Allen

Read Full Post »